Deliciousness

My entire life I have had a deep-seated instinct that life should be delicious. Until recently, however, I had no way to express that sentiment because the notion was so contrary to the themes under which I was oriented into this life: work hard, be polite, go to church, repent, do good not evil, do not indulge, do not have too much fun.

Don’t get me wrong. There’s plenty of people for whom these notions must be supremely motivating. I am not one of them. For me, these are the things that keep me up at night, make me question my gut reactions, and generally stop me from experiencing the world in all its …deliciousness.

I owe this term to my wife. She is Brazilian, and when we first met I couldn’t help noticing how many non-food items she referred to as “delicious” – movies, sunsets, exercise, you name it. It wasn’t long before I realized that this was her direct translation of the Portuguese word “gostoso/a”. In Brazil, everything that enriches the experience of life is gostoso. A beautiful woman is a gostosa. (In fact, a woman with large thighs is not fat, she is a woman with um exceso de gostosura – an excess of deliciousness).

As this journey progresses, I will seek to experience the deliciousness in all things – in the departure, in the arrival, in the travel, in the motion, and in the stillness. Life can be delicious, and for me it absolutely must be. I cannot express how liberating it is to know that this will be an enduring theme of my life.

4 thoughts on “Deliciousness

  1. Pingback: The Walking Commute | sabwavique

Leave a Reply

