Pre-Game Jitters

Tomorrow I start the 28-day Field Course at the Boulder Outdoor Survival School in southern Utah. At the moment, I’m sitting in a motel thinking about it and I have to admit, I’m pretty nervous about it.

Here’s a breakdown of the course:

– Ultra-light travel through Southern Utah’s mountains, mesas, and canyons with little more than a blanket, a poncho, and a knife
– No tents, sleeping bags, stoves, or backpacks, and definitely no watches, radios, or cellphones
– The goal is to learn to ‘live in the now’
– Learn the skills of Ancestral Puebloan cultures

On the first phase of the course, no food is allowed except what you find. In later phases, more food is provided but is intentionally restricted to be consistent with a philosophy of using only what you need. There are phases that include hiking 15-30 miles a day. In another phase, they will teach me “animal processing” including slaughter and how to use every part of the animal’s body. Then they leave me alone out there for a period of time to put my new skills to the test.

And here I am, worried about whether I can pass their fitness test so they’ll let me do all this.

Over the next four weeks I will have no access to the internet, among other things. I have asked Cris to periodically post some of my thoughts about this course. She may also update you on her progress in Brazil and Costa Rica, if she feels the urge.

See you out there!

20120714-214535.jpg
(Taken from http://www.boss-inc.com).

3 thoughts on “Pre-Game Jitters

  1. Like every other stage of your journey thus far, this adventure sounds absolutely incredible. All the best to the both of you as you continue this amazing set of experiences. You are an inspiration to us all!

Leave a Reply

