Things I Fear: Part 1 – Hunger

[Note: The following was written prior to July 15, but I have saved some of my thoughts for postings while I am out of reach of the internet.  Thanks to Cris for helping me out.]
 
As I mentioned in a previous post, I began the 28-Day Field Course at the Boulder Outdoor Survival School on July 15.  I am extremely excited about this because it’s something I’ve always wanted to do.  
 
Nonetheless, there are certain things that I fear.  I am a person who loves a lot of things.  However, if I were to make a list of all the things I love in this world and then remove all of the people from that list, the remainder would be about 96% food, drink, and coffee.  (Yes, coffee gets its own category.) 
 
If you know me at all or if you’ve paid any attention to this blog, you’ve probably noticed that my decisions in life are often dictated by food, drink, and coffee.  I even have a category on this blog entitled Deliciousness.  When you think about it though, an obsession about the deliciousness of food assumes the ready availability of food.  This will not be the case for the next month.  According to the course website, during the first phase after orientation there is “no food except what you find.”  Hmm. 
 
I have never been truly hungry in my life.  I get grumpy when I’m 15 minutes past my usual meal times.  I have vivid memories of the two times I actually missed a meal.  
 
With this in mind, I recently came across the following passage from The Hunger Games:
 
What must it be like, I wonder, to live in a world where food appears at the push of a button?  How would I spend the hours I now commit to combing the woods for sustenance if it were so easy to come by?
 
During the following month, I will have to live in a world with no produce section, no meat and dairy section, no beer imported from Belgium, and above all, no coffee house.  
 
One of my goals for this year was to consciously practice boldness in order to enhance my ability to savor the deliciousness of life, in all its forms.  This means acknowledging fears and proceeding in spite of those fears.  Over 28 days in the recesses of the Rocky Mountains, I will face my fear of hunger in order to access the deliciousness of finding my own sustenance.  I’ll let you know how it goes.
One thought on “Things I Fear: Part 1 – Hunger

Leave a Reply

